Assemkhan’s Weblog

Total Time Pass

In time !!

Ive always been interested in checking out the latest car models & the Hyundai i20 is “THE ONE”.  It looks awesome, has loads of space & is coupled with a variety of features.  Here is a pic for reference  –

 i20

Ill dig into this episode that led me towards the i20…
Last week I had gone to a store (http://www.housefull.co.in/) to buy a shoe rack which they had advertised in the newspaper.  I didnt like it at all. It had terrible quality & no wonder they were selling it for 55% off, cos no1 would bother looking @ it otherwise:)
One look @ the sales guys face & I had a hunch that this guy wants a break.  He was pretty silent while I was telling him how they should be focusing on quality.  He seemed like a blackboard to me – completely blank, cos I dont think he knew what quality meant.  Suddenly he said we have another shoe rack on sale & he took me to show that one.  It “seemed” a bit better in quality & had a nice colour.. I was checking it out & this guy suddenly(once again) told me — “So shall I pack this one for you?”  I thought it doesnt look all that bad so I reluctantly said a yes!  Then he said u need to take the box of contents with you & some1 from their store will come home in 2 days to assemble it.  I asked him if it could be assembled there itself, he said it would take 10-15 mins & I didnt have a problem with that, so I said ill wait.  He made a phone call to the guy supposed to assemble this rack, who was sipping tea somewhere outside!!  I told him u make sure to get it ready within 10 mins & Ill come back to pay for it.
Next to this store was the Hyundai Showroom & I wanted to have a peek @ the i20… This is how I landed there 🙂

I was made to sit there for a couple of minutes till a sales exec called me to discuss the car.  She told me the features, the price & availability but when I asked for a brochure she said they are out of stock, “cos every1 comes & takes the brochure..” all I can say is it’s a bad idea to keep anything for free in India.  After some discussion we went to see the car model… I felt amazing to sit inside this vehicle, I must say its extremely comfy in there:)  the dashboard looked huge & the controls for the AC & CD player looked a bit confusing to me, the gear box was tiny & didnt look all that good to me.  I sat in the rear seats & these were spacious with the split folding seats @ the rear it made lots of sense as a family car.  The boot was striking cos they had kept 4 bags in there!! Thats a lot of luggage space in a hatch back, probably the best. the steering looked very good to me & the LED displays looked hi-tech..  The sales exec was making sure I see the Hyundai logo on the LED display 🙂  I liked the door handling but the boot was a bit scary cos it jumped up like a “jack in the box” & I feel it might hurt some1 who opens it for the 1st time.  I didnt take a test drive cos I had to pick up the shoe rack & rush for Asar.  I was pretty happy to have a look @ the car I like & I thanked the sales exec & asked her to call me for a test drive when she has the brochure ready.  She thanked me & gave me a price list of the various versions.

Back to the store –
I thought these guys must be waiting for me since long, but unfortunately 2 guys were struggling to assemble a shoe rack!!  I started assisting them with it & showed them how its gotta be done.. they kept looking @ the manual & then tried to find a way to fix it up, but then followed what I was saying.  One of them went away abruptly & the other fellow was taking ages to move his hands.  I was loosing my patience – to top it the work was just half way thru. I dont know what came to my mind.. I just told him to forget it & I left the store without the shoe rack & I was happy cos I could reach in time for my Asar prayers!!

September 11, 2009 Posted by | Miscellaneous | 4 Comments