Assemkhan’s Weblog

Total Time Pass

Emotions….

Humans have emotions and most of them express their emotions, but I don’t know whether we should do that or not.  Cos first of all if u are sad and feeling down, why the heck do u wanna share yr grief with others and make them feel more sad?  People say that by doing this, u will feel better that u have shared yr grief with someone and that person might understand yr situation and try to console u and ull feel better. Well for me that doesn’t work cos I feel we should only share happiness around, and all the sorrow and grief that we encounter should be for us and we need to learn from it, not cry and crib about it.  Now the problem is no one thinks like this, everyone tells me what I think is wrong, well it might be, but it makes sense to me, I don’t want others to feel bad just cos I went thru something.  All people have a right to their own opinion and there is a difference of opinion here.  This is my choice and it suites me.  So I don’t express my emotions – that’s what my cousins and friends tell me.  But do I need to?   I only share the happy moments of my life with others and I don’t bring forward the sorrow (if any).  Now what happens in this process is that Im always happy and cheerful, I never sulk or cry!  So Im the winner here right?  I mean everyone on earth wants to stay happy, and by following my formula, Im always happy 🙂

Now it depends on everyone whether to express their emotions and cry with a gang, or stay happy.

December 17, 2007 - Posted by | Miscellaneous

9 Comments »

  1. I loved what your wrote Assem. Yes, Happiness is the first thing a soul looks for but, I have a different opinion as far as sharing sorrow/grief is concerned. I feel it’s not at all courageous to hide grief within you coz it’s the one thing which will bury you down to depression. And when we share our grief with others, it’s wrong to say that we are making the other person sad. The other person is at his/her normal senses while we are in depressed state. So, this makes a normal happy mind help a depressed mind. It will all get balanced and the end result can be more fruitful than you ever imagined. I really don’t feel we make others sad by making them listen to our sad saga. As far as I experienced, sharing only helps to build new strong unexplored bonds in any relation. But, thats my opinion.

    A small, but very good post Assem 🙂

    Comment by Anoop | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. Ya Aseem..and most will disagree to you bcos maybe u didn’t tried it..or u were never unhappy to an extent that u felt like sharing it..and man..you share such things wid closed ones ,those who understands you..

    I have experienced a number of ocassions where i was confused,depressed but a good healthy chat wid someone close made me feel lighter,feel better..

    Its all about one’s choice of handling one’s emotions..

    Comment by nitin | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. @Anoop
    Thanks for yr comments, what u said makes sense!

    @Nitin
    Yes – its our own choice, choose the best one 🙂

    All the sorrow and greif in my life (if at all any !) is for me and all the happiness is to be shared with all. So out of all the things Ill teach u to smile, baaki sab (i mean the sad part) ke liye sochna bhi mana hai !

    Comment by assemkhan | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. Tu to sant /Mahant ..baba bangali ki tarah baat kar raha hain.. Jai ho Asseem baba ki!!!
    🙂

    Comment by nitin | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. I don’t think it’s the right thing to do. You’ll always try to look happy and this might make you ‘act happy’. As a result your true self will be lost.

    Comment by lazybug | December 19, 2007 | Reply

  6. hmmm now I agree with you and disagree with you , I do not talk about my problems unless I feel the person I am talking to can help me resolve it , talking through emotions is a must otherwise you will explode with all that negativity. Its great your cheerful , thats what I do even if I am sad I still have a laugh, because life is not worth me showing a glum looking face .

    But When I need to I will share my emotions only with those who can help me , not those who just want to gossip about it .

    Comment by amal | December 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. @amal
    cool u are kinda right – we need to share our feelings woth people who will understand us completely.

    Comment by assemkhan | December 26, 2007 | Reply

  8. Asalaamu Alaikum-

    a bit ago, you asked on my blog (musaafir.wordpress.com) about the Muslim Advice Hotline (and whether it was only in the US & Canada).

    Someone responded to it: http://musaafir.wordpress.com/2008/01/10/muslim-advice-hotline/#comments

    Comment by Munzareen | March 7, 2008 | Reply

  9. Walaikum Salaam,

    Thanks for letting me know abt it. & Welcome to my blog

    Comment by assemkhan | March 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

