Assemkhan’s Weblog

Total Time Pass

Daawat

 

Foods an essential part of our lives and for a person like me, well all I love to have tasty food, ok who doesn’t but then Ive seen people who don’t eat that tasty food at home. My mom cooks lavishly and I binge outside as well.  I guess everyone thinks like that.  We are a big family, all spread around the city and we have regular get-togethers, and what do we have?? Biryani / Daalcha / Kichda(Haleem) / kababs and all.  My favourite dish is Chikken Tikka, I also love khichdi… and Tomato chutney with thesa and ghee  – I can have that for lunch & dinner for days together, but my mum doesn’t make it that often she thinks its not nutritious enough for me????  When we have get-togethers in the family, guess what we all are taking about?? Food what else, and I wonder how much time is wasted in that, we could have rather played some games instead (we kids do play dumb charades, Dog in the bone and four corners haha).

But then every time we have a “daawat” should we have biryani?? Why not Khichdi and tamatar ki chutney??? I love that man

The elders love Methi and Palak, so that can be made for them.  This will help in reducing the cost involved in the daawats and also it’s probably easier to cook than biryani.  Anyway if I tell this to the elders they say “You are absolutely right, but then daawat mein chutney-bhaji dena acha nahi lagta”  Arrey wo kya khana nahi hai kya?? And daily these people eat methi and palak, they love it, then why make such tedious dishes so often? I don’t mind, cos at the end I get to eat those lovely dishes.  But I had an opinion.  Oh did I forget to mention the sweet dishes??  We usually had gajar/dudiye ha halwa but then I started the trend of Ice-cream and it’s a hit now.  Sometimes we also get custard / ghas ka halwa  / gulab jamun.  We have a wedding in the family next week and guess what we are gonna do for a couple of days at the brides house?? Have daawats man!! Lunch & dinner.  Lets hope everything turns out to be good.

One thing that’s important in these get-togethers is planning.. the seating arrangement, crockery, lights and all.  I can say that Im an experienced person in this area, cos weve had sooo many daawats & marriages and Ive always been available for help.

How about having one good daawat for all the blogger-friends??  Let me know who all can come to Poona, Ill be more than happy to meet you all.

 

November 2, 2007 - Posted by | Miscellaneous

8 Comments »

  1. I love Khichri too but why is it not nutritional enough.Dog and Bone must be fun:))Thanks for the invitation Aseem.I will remember that when I visit Poona.

    Comment by pr3rna | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. arey gosh ke saamne khichdi mein kya dum hai?? he he, I think mum thinks khichdi everyday is boring 😉

    Comment by assemkhan | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. I can’t comment on that. I am a vegetarian.About not being nutritional enough, I remember a Greek woman asking me what suplements do I take in order to keep away deficiencies.Her daughter had recently turned vegetarian. I told her that we are vegetarians from generations and we have no deficiencies.

    Comment by pr3rna | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. its prefectly fine to be a vegetarian, some people in my family are veg, but then veg is considered sub-standard in dawaats – thats what im trying to tell.

    Comment by assemkhan | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. How was the Marriage Celebrations…. Were you satisfied? And thanks for that Dawat… I am available…. today, tomorrow, day-after-tom….

    Comment by Mohan Marandi | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hey Marriages arent meant to satisfy, I freaked out with my cousins, we all had a blast!

    Comment by assemkhan | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Asseem..kidar mar gaya hain tu? No blogs update..Am on core leave yaar..

    Well i didnt notice that u have invited all guys for a DAWAAT..main bhi hain..:-)
    And for the arrangment part..Meri Shaadi ka pura arrangment tere se he karwaunga.. 🙂

    Comment by nitin | December 14, 2007 | Reply

  8. Chalega, tu shaadi to kar pehle

    Comment by assemkhan | December 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

