Assemkhan’s Weblog

Total Time Pass

Diaries V/s Blogs

Id always wanted to have a personal diary… my father and grandfather had one.  I did give it a try once, when I was a kid but it lasted hardly a page.  Probably one of the reasons for me to stop maintaining that diary was that it was accessible to all.  So it wasn’t a “personal diary” anymore.  The blogs that I write aren’t any personal, and I don’t think we can compare a blog to a diary, cos diaries include more emotions and occurrences from our lives which most of us probably wont include in an online blog. Maybe the diary was started to record the day-to-day life, hmm blogs can do the same as well.  There are loads of people who think that there’s nothing such as “personal space” everything’s gotta be out and even if it’s a something to be kept secret, people don’t mind sharing their personal experiences, which at times could be a bit embarrassing to know for family and friends.  I mean what If some guy writes about his first puff and his dad reads it, its ok if he belongs to a broad-minded family, but if he is an anti-cigarette-person like me – He’s gone! But on the other side his dad will know that his son is confessing to fag openly and he would just talk it or hed just be happy and ask him to join him next time onwards.

 

Well my point is – Is blogging the answer to personal diaries?  Im getting tempted to start writing a diary soon!!!

September 24, 2007 - Posted by | 1

11 Comments »

  1. Asseem

    you can make your entries password protected or personal if you want to keep them to yourself .. More over there is nothing wrong about expressing yourself . It needs great talent to do so .

    Comment by nishu | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Agreed

    Comment by assemkhan | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Each one can be seen as a different solution for different requirements..

    Some People are sharing very personal stuffs online and therefore they may not need a diary…and some may not..its a personal choice and nothing is the substitute for the other(diary/blog).

    Comment by nitin | September 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi there… Thnx for drop by to mine 🙂
    In my opinion, your blog is totally yours, you might write everything u want :D, and if you want to be protected, then add pass 😀 that can be accessed with you or your limited friends only

    Happy blogging 🙂

    Comment by 7ustm3 | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. what i was saying is that is the online version of a diary comparable to a personal diary that u have to pen down? theres a slight difference there.

    Comment by assemkhan | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. Writing, among many other aspects to it, is used as a medium to express your expressions. For me, my writings express my thoughts more vividly than do my words. Even when I think clearly, my words do not express my thoughts as well as it would appear in my writing. Whichever way I try – try hard to make myself clear or relax and try out to easily think and talk slowly – I fail with my words when in crisis or when I need to do good with my words.

    Having said that it would be difficult for anyone to understand why I do not have a personal diary or blog that is dedicated to give expressions to my mind. Especially for me who feel’s sharing of experiences is a courageous act, which opens up opportunity for many. One can know of your experience and say:
    (i) “Hey this is what I am going through, and I think this guy shows me a way out of my trouble.”
    (ii) “Wow this is good news for me. Now I know how I can make life hell for my neighbor.”
    (iii) “He dealt with it badly. I know a better way.”
    (iv) “He was alone had he got company he would have done better/worse.”
    (v) “I now know the missing link of how he fell, let me add to his trouble.”
    (vi) “This guy opens the eye of a generation; he’s got to bring a change for the better.”
    (vii) “He is a fool, he has not learnt to keep his mouth shut”
    (viii) “Let’s give him what he deserves for the deed he has done.”
    (ix) “He has divulged about me what was secret to me. He has brought shame and ill-health to my family. I will not be able to face the world anymore.”
    (x) “His words give insight into what has happened in the past or he is at the height of his fantasies ”

    There will be many more reasons; what’s important to keep in mind when you write down something is to know how much ready you are to face the above utilization of the information you have provided. If you are not worried blog or diary does not make any difference. Numerous blogs are dedicated by people who live life like an open diary.

    Comment by linsonjoseph | October 1, 2007 | Reply

  7. yes, I agree that people can have the same thing written in blogs that they would have written in diaries. But what if we imagine that the blog site vanishes / dies down in 100 yrs time, then what? The diary written 100 yrs probably can get into the hands of someone. Thats gonna be so damn revealing! Technology is evolving fast, and it might be impossible for the blog to vanish from the net, but what if it does? Then what huh?

    Comment by assemkhan | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  8. If your blogs vanishes it would be just as what would happen if your diary is eaten by the termites or is burnt in a volcano. Your history is lost.

    Comment by Linson Joseph | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  9. When i was 6, i started my own dairy.. from then onwards, every year, on the brink of new year eve, i start my diary.. this year, instead of buying new ultra cool diary, i started my blog ( majorly due to absence of pocket money at those times and later onwards, was too hooked up on it..still is 🙂 )

    Writing diary was great fun, i was more open with it, could curse my enemies with all my heart 🙂

    But than again, blogging itself is a beautiful experience, i met so many great people, my thinking is more broader and i’m more acceptable to new ideas..

    Wasn’t plannig to write such a long comment, guess got carried away 😦

    Comment by lubz | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  10. u write a diary! wow thats nice. But a piece of advice for u is please dont curse anyone ever. I might be sounding like a big time “abbajaan”, although Im no more wiser than u, but then thats me 🙂

    Comment by assemkhan | October 4, 2007 | Reply

  11. Do I need to officially welcome u to my blog? Well its open to all, I mean welcome bolke kya fayda, but what the heck, Welcome to my blog

    Comment by assemkhan | October 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

