Assemkhan’s Weblog

Total Time Pass

Food in poona

Food is the essence of our lives and for a person like me its gotta be lavish.  Ive spent my teens in camp area of Poona, which houses lots of eating joints and yes Ive been to all of them.  So now I know what to expect where and at what time.  Most of the times while passing by these joints I stop over and take a parcel to satisfy my binge. 

These are the places I visit often

Radio Hotel – Seekh Kabab

Olympia – Kati Kabab

Hite Bar – Shawarma & Burgers

Opp JJ Garden – Wada Pav

Bund Garden – Bhel

Moej (Koregaon Park) – irani food

Poona Cold Drink – Falooda

Blue Nile resaurant – tandoori chicken

Any one who is in Poona and likes food, my advise is eat in camp, cos it’s the best.  U get maharashtrian thali and good veg food on JM Rd and FC Rd, but then seekh aur burger ke saamne ye kidhar tikege? 

September 21, 2007 - Posted by | India

8 Comments »

  1. Is it spelled as Poona?
    I think its Puna 😀

    Comment by nishu | September 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. It was Poona earlier…. Now it is changed to Pune

    Comment by assemkhan | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Asseem
    Dishes ka Bhav bhi likh na…also address..
    I think Bagbaan is also a good place for Non-Veg,try there..

    Comment by nitin | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. Ive tried bagbaan several times, its a bit expensive compared to the others, Bagbaan might pull out a 100 Rs from yr pocket to fill yr tummy, whereas the others can do it within 50

    Comment by assemkhan | September 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. I will add one more place I discovered accidentally to your list:
    For pregnancy checkups I take my wife to Jehangir Hospital and usually it’s 12:00 noon when we return. My wife loves beef and so I took her to Southern Spice, next to Ruby Hall Hospital on our first visit. On Second visit we again went there and were surprised to see English nationals coming in after us and ordering ‘Rice & Sambar and fish & Appam’s without pronunciation mistakes. The Keralites, my Wife & Me were equally surprised and I took the opportunity to talk to the two English Ladies & their Gentlemen J. It was learnt that a Malu had opened a South Indian Restaurant somewhere near their house in London and they were already accustomed to the name of many of the Indian dishes. I came out with all smiles and that led to the accident I initially talked about.
    After our third visit to the Hospital my wife did not want her Beef Curry. And we were a bit early from the hospital too. So I said let’s stroll behind the venue. Although nothing looked promising we went into the only Ladies (!!) dress Material shop, which claimed to have dress materials from all over the country. For a shop of its size the price tags looked too high. After making up for the time to feel the hunger we strolled back to entered into a Chinese restaurant we had seen on the way. The gloomy surrounding had not promised much & I had never developed a taste for ‘Chinky Food’ too. Inside there were only four tables & though a bit small there was ‘Chinky Music, Chinky Paintings & the Laughing Buddha.’ Whatever we ordered we ordered it spicy and ate what was sufficient for four!!! AHLING is worth a visit & we thanked everyone as we returned.
    The following week I took my wife on a long ride after the evening Sunday Mass and we were at Kharadi and lo here comes a wish from behind… “Let’s go to AHLING!!”. I leave it upto you to decide if you would want to meet such expectations.

    Comment by Linson Joseph | October 1, 2007 | Reply

  6. hey Linson, ive never been to AHLING .. will try it out sometime. Thanx for sharing yr accidental knowledge! 😉

    Comment by assemkhan | October 1, 2007 | Reply

  7. There’s this Chinese hangout opp. Ferguson…had been there long back. It’s a small place but the food was good and reasonably priced.

    Comment by lazybug | October 1, 2007 | Reply

  8. Lots of places around the city, I just highlighted camp area cos I stay there 🙂

    Comment by assemkhan | October 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

